Author Topic: Buying ETFs - please help!  (Read 5116 times)

stephie_corin

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Buying ETFs - please help!
« on: August 20, 2014, 09:57:51 AM »
Please help! Investing for the first time and I have three questions:

1 - is there any benefit to buying Vanguard ETF to 100k in 10k parcels every few weeks or is it better to buy the shares in a lump sum?

2 - is there any benefit to owning several Vanguard ETFs and rebalancing?

3 - which ETFs would you recommend:

https://www.vanguardinvestments.com.au/retail/ret/investments/etfs.jsp#etfstab

Thank you!

Manguy888

• Bristles
    • EA Mann, Writer
Re: Buying ETFs - please help!
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2014, 10:15:43 AM »
I am not an expert but I'll do my best:

1 - you'll get different opinions on this. In general you want to invest over time in order to dollar cost average. But vanguard just put out a paper saying, essentially, that as long as you're putting this money in for the long term you're better of just putting it all in right up front. The market has historically gone up, meaning the earlier the money goes in the better. since you're talking about breaking up your investment over weeks, the diference here should be small.

2 - this all depends on your asset allocation. Once you have an asset allocation (example: 50% stocks, 30% REIT, 20$ bonds), you can occasionally rebalance to make sure everything is not out of wack. This is a standard strategy. The only thing is that i you are using a taxable account, selling ETFs to rebalance is a taxable event. Just something to consider.

3 - I'm not smart enough on this to tell you exactly. Just make sure that your biggest holding is something that either tracks the S&P 500 or the entire stock market. I have a vanguard account and use VTSAX - I'm sure there is an ETF equivalent.

hope this is helpful

Scandium

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2014, 10:45:11 AM »