Author Topic: Buying A Second Home and What To Do with The First  (Read 6795 times)

Sblak

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Buying A Second Home and What To Do with The First
« on: October 22, 2014, 04:41:02 PM »
My wife and I live in a 3 bedroom, 1400 square foot home.  We just had our fourth child.  Woohoo.  While the home just fits us right now, we want to move into a larger, 4 bedroom, approximately 2000 square foot in 5 years to give our kids more room as they get older.  We are both pretty set on the move and I not looking to argue on this thread about the right size home for our family.  Instead I want to understand how to best make the upgrade.

A little about us. I work as a lawyer for the state and she stays at home with our kids.  The kids are young enough it makes sense for my wife to stay home.  I make approximately $70,000.  We own our cars and have no debt.  I like my job (shockingly) and have an amazing pension available.  I plan to work until I qualify for full retirement from my job, about 17 more years, when I will receive approximately 60% of my highest salary from the last few years before I retire for the rest of my life (that would be a higher percentage of my salary than we spend right now).  I am already deferring some income into a 457(b) plan through my work.  We want to own our home outright before I retire.  All of this is a little off topic, but I wanted to say I think we will be OK and feel the move is a good idea, that won't significantly alter any of our plans.

We live in a pretty low cost of living area.  We currently own a home that is worth about $190,000.  We have a mortgage on it for approximately $130,000 fixed at 3.75%.  Our current monthly mortgage payment (including insurance and property taxes) is about $850.  We want to move into a home valued at approximately $300,000.  That means we will need about $60,000 as a down payment.