Author Topic: Buying a house, need advice on what to do with my old house.  (Read 2433 times)

hatsix

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Buying a house, need advice on what to do with my old house.
« on: August 03, 2018, 11:26:11 PM »
I'm new to MMM, recommended by a friend. I saw there's a forum for real-estate, but I figured I'd post for opinions, then read through that forum.

My situation:
Assets: 2 lots in Seattle, one with a tiny house, one empty, side-by-side, worth roughly $1M. I owe $342K on the properties. I can invest $5k in the property and get about $2200 in rent. I have decent amount in 401k, but no other investments.
I am moving to Minnesota. I am buying a house for $193K. I have the cash to put 20% down, and my monthly expenses will be about $1400/m.

I have options...
  • Sell lots, buy new house outright, invest the rest
  • Sell lots, put 20% down, invest the rest
  • Keep house, put 20% down, gather rent.

My initial impulse was to keep the lots, as we may move back to Seattle in 3-7 years, and the house value would scale with the seattle market, ensuring that I would be able to afford a house in the new market... but investing could lead to some big gains too. I've never landlorded, and I'll be doing it from out-of-town, which lends some extra stress.

UPDATE: After talking with my accountant, I found out that we'd have to pay capital gains on the increase in value on the land if we sold after 3 years... as well, the house is small, so rent won't cover mortgage + property management + upkeep... so landlording looks like it isn't a good option.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2018, 06:19:34 PM by hatsix »

Fishindude

• Magnum Stache
Re: Buying a house, need advice on what to do with my old house.
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2018, 08:12:55 AM »
Why don't you sell the Seattle house, pay cash for the Minnesota house and invest the rest?

former player

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2018, 08:59:37 AM »