Author Topic: Buy a house or keep renting?  (Read 1882 times)

lulu0915

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Buy a house or keep renting?
« on: January 17, 2019, 01:12:07 AM »
Hello. My husband and I have been renting for the past 10 years since we have been married. Now we are wondering if we should buy or keep renting and invest our money. Together we make about 300K this year. Next year it will be 400-500k. That will be teh same going forward after next year. Our rent is $5100 (southern california - I know crazy high. Before in Chicago it was less). We both work from home so we have a home office. 3 young kids. The money we saved in the past we bought, rented and/or sold a few rental properties. We have one left that we are selling in the spring. it's in another state and we need to just sell it, but we'll make about 150K from it.

If we want to buy a comparable house to the one we are in, it is about 1.2-1.5K. We can put 300-400k as a down payment. But I'm just wondering is this the best use of this money? I mean we can keep renting. Some of our friends tell us to buy because we can deduct the interest and renting is a bad idea. To be honest I'm not sure what to think.

I've learned a LOT from this forum so I figured this was a good place to ask this question :)

alsoknownasDean

• Magnum Stache
Re: Buy a house or keep renting?
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2019, 01:56:13 AM »
How long would you like to stay in the area? Do you plan on sending your kids to the local schools? Do you plan on any more kids?

Financially renting may make sense, but if you plan on staying in an area long term, the stability of owning a place might matter more to you.
« Last Edit: January 17, 2019, 01:57:49 AM by alsoknownasDean »

chemistk

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2019, 06:08:47 AM »
Have you taken a look at the NYT rent vs. buy calculator? It's a few years old but most of the variables are adjustable so you can make it relevant.