Author Topic: Career Advice-Taking Time off  (Read 3728 times)

mrsggrowsveg

Career Advice-Taking Time off
« on: December 23, 2013, 07:33:02 AM »
I am a fairly recent grad working in an entry level programming position.  I would really like to advance in the company or get a higher level job in another company in the future.  My question is, does it look bad to take a lot (or even a little) time off around the holidays?  My boss, who is just older than me and very successful mentioned that our CEO walks the halls around the holidays to see who is working.  He knows that I want to advance, so I think he told me this to advise me to work.  Does anyone have experience with promotions being given more to people who take less time off?

SunshineGirl

• Pencil Stache
Re: Career Advice-Taking Time off
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2013, 08:05:49 AM »
I would say it doesn't matter at all for you moving to another company, but if your boss is correct, then maybe it does matter to your CEO, which is unfortunate. I've worked with people who do value your commitment to the company based on how much you work, and it can become something of an exclusionary club.

SnackDog

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2013, 08:12:04 AM »
I would look for another company which values employees and encourages a healthy work life balance. I work at an extremely successful fortune 20 corporation which is really down on long hours except in emergencies.  I find most people work more effectively on normal work days and plenty of vacation. Whipping staff long hours without vacations just leads to lower performance, burnout, stress, etc.

Spork

• Walrus Stache
    • Spork In The Eye
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2013, 08:13:46 AM »
I can't speak for whether that matters at your company, but if your boss says it matters (and you trust him/her) ... it's probably true.