Author Topic: Bulk food  (Read 2988 times)

ahenderson

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Bulk food
« on: December 19, 2015, 07:29:54 PM »
So I have recently discovered this website and wanted to throw a question out there in case anyone has tried it.

My wife and I have five awesome kiddos from 12-3 years old.  Currently mama is spending 600 a month on food which breaks down to $.95 per person per meal.  We eat whole grains, fresh fruit and veggies and lean meat...majority of home-cooked-from-scratch meals and I take sack lunches to work.

I work in manufacturing and recently noticed a 55 gallon drum of organic extra-virgin olive oil at work.  This got me thinking...could I form an Llc, buy bulk wholesale shelf stable foods, split costs with friends and family and further cut our food budget?

I've found websites of bulk wholesale foods ranging from nuts to oils to spices and grains.  They come in 50 lb bags and 55 gallon drums.  The catch is, you can't see the prices until you set up a commercial account with them.

Has anyone looked into this or given it a try?

abhe8

• Bristles
Re: Bulk food
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2015, 08:43:06 PM »
No, but I get great prices on 25 to 50# bags of dry good from country life natural foods. Free delivery to my door as well. It really helps my food budget.

horsepoor

• Magnum Stache
  • That old chestnut.
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2015, 09:01:38 PM »