Author Topic: Budget categories  (Read 3683 times)

BlueHouse

• Magnum Stache
Budget categories
« on: May 13, 2015, 07:23:26 PM »
I've been tracking all of my expenses for many years, but I've never really been good at getting a high level picture.  Of course I know where my money is going, but I tend to have 2 or 3 giant categories, and then 100 small ones.  I've consolidated categories and simplified over the past few years, but it's still too detailed and leads to too much data, and no real action.

How many expense categories is the ideal number? 
How deep of a hierarchy, if a hierarchy is used?
What categories do you track in your budget?
Do you track your property tax with housing or do you mix it in with income taxes?
Do you track auto insurance as the cost of owning an automobile, or do you combine it with other insurance products?
Any other hints or tips that could make my tracking easier? 

I'm currently using Quicken for mac 2015 if that helps.

Ziggurat

• Stubble
Re: Budget categories
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2015, 08:46:03 PM »
I find it helpful to think in terms of alternatives.  So yes, auto insurance is part of my Transportation category.  Without a car, I wouldn't be paying it, so it is naturally a part of that cost. And a bike or the bus is an alternative, so Transportation is the top-level category, not "auto".  Similarly for property tax, it is part of my Shelter category.  It wouldn't exist if I were renting.  Keeping the total costs of a certain option together helps evaluate how much you could save if you took a different approach.

How many categories and levels is a personal decision of course.  Whatever provides utility in tracking and looking for ways to reduce spending. Personally I think about seven or eight high level categories is lots, and anywhere from two to five or six subcategories in each, and no deeper levels than that.