Author Topic: Brain atrophy  (Read 11055 times)

Katnina

• Stubble
  • 33 & happily retired!
Brain atrophy
« on: April 20, 2014, 01:17:30 PM »
Hello!  I'm 33 and I retired at 31, after a layoff from my hedge fund job gave me a golden parachute which I used to buy rental properties.  I've started to feel like my brain is atrophying, and I was wondering if any other Mustachians have been feeling this way since retiring?  I also don't know if it's just from getting older, or if no longer doing math in my head all night (I was an Asian stock trader) is making my brain go soft. 
I read a lot, mostly fiction (I can plow through a mystery novel in under 2 days), but I just started reading Capital in the Twenty-First Century and I feel like I can't get through more than 5 pages without needing a break to allow my brain to process everything.  I majored in Econ in college, and I could easily read 50 pages of dense economics books in one sitting. 
I've signed myself up for French lessons, which start in May, and I'm tempted to sign up for Lumosity, but I don't know if that will help.
Any advice on how to keep the wheels turning once work is over?

ender

• Walrus Stache
Re: Brain atrophy
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2014, 01:32:48 PM »
... what do you do with your time?

Most people looking to ER have a lot of other "work" they want to do post-ER.

toby2

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2014, 04:50:51 PM »
I am skeptical that somebody who's sharp enough to land a hedge fund gig that sends him into retirement in his early 30's is having brain atrophy. Is there something else going on? Are you eating/sleeping/exercising properly? Or is this a sign of anxiety/depression? These things are easy to overlook, but are worth thinking about.