Author Topic: Boss sees my 401k contributions, treats me differently  (Read 5819 times)

samanil

• Stubble
Boss sees my 401k contributions, treats me differently
« on: May 08, 2021, 10:36:37 PM »
Hi frugal friends,

Being a mustachian, I am contributing 35% of my income to my 401k with the aim of maxing it out. My boss noticed this and asked me if I had meant to do that, or if I accidentally typed "35" instead of "3", as 3% is apparently the general recommendation for 401k contributions (lol). I've talked to him about Mustachianism and he appreciates the idea, but it was interesting to see how surprised he was about my contribution percentage, which is where the rubber really hits the road, so to speak, with this whole philosophy.

Anyways, I work as a carpenter, and on a number of occasions my boss has brought up my 401k contributions and used it as a reason for why I should buy this or that tool, ie - "Well you could contribute less to your 401k and buy such and such a tool". He doesn't do it in a mean or super serious way, so I honestly don't really mind it. Furthermore, as a tradesperson I plan on having a complete tool set so I can be maximally effective in my job.