Author Topic: Boss said he'll match any offer we get! What would you do?  (Read 5119 times)

maginvizIZ

• Bristles
Boss said he'll match any offer we get! What would you do?
« on: February 14, 2019, 05:01:25 PM »
I work in finance at a defense company, for almost 3 years.  It's been pretty boring, until I switched to my current department (I switched to overheads in October.  It's semi interesting... Still semi boring/slow).

I originally was going to get another job come June (I have tuition handcuffs on me until then).

Yesterday in a meeting, my boss said no one can leave the company.  He even went to say "Hand me the offer and I will work with the CFO to match/compete".

Current Salary: $65k
I'm worth: $80k

I was originally set on leaving, but I do have a rockstar manager. Super flexible when I come in. I NEVER work over 40 hours. Coworkers are smart and easy to work with... But the overall work its...... eh.? Low satisfaction.

What would you do?  Get an offer to get paid more now, then leave later in the year?  Or just hold my breath until June then switch jobs?  Or get an offer, then stay?! :|

Dave1442397

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Boss said he'll match any offer we get! What would you do?
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2019, 05:47:57 AM »
I'd look around to see what's out there, at least.

If you see interesting positions, check out comments on Glassdoor.com and TheLayoff.com

My current company has had some very negative changes to work/life balance and annual review policy lately, so there are a lot of negative comments on those sites. It can be a good way to get a feel for the company culture.