Author Topic: Blog and Domain Effective layout  (Read 3989 times)

Stasher

• Handlebar Stache
  • Power through Positivity
    • Mindful Explorer
Blog and Domain Effective layout
« on: February 06, 2016, 10:58:59 AM »
I've been doing the blog thing for a couple of years now but recently my networking and outdoor pursuits have led me to want to really step up the streamlined and professional aspect of things.

I am working on expanding my network thus I did a bit of research and purchased hosting via Bluehost and acquired my own domain http://chrisistace.com . I then followed another blogs instructions and installed the Wordpress infrastructure to it. I proceeded to go to wordpress were my existing blog was and export my blog files, went to bluehost and uploaded them into wordpress there.

Well once I did this things just didn't flow nicely and for some reason my existing theme is no longer available therefore I had to try and select a new one. I did this and it didn't have the widgets I wanted and tried a few others, coming to a conclusion to delete the wordpress install on bluehost.

I went into the domain settings , changed the name servers to point to Wordpress. I went into wordpress and paid for their domain mapping and basically just have chrisistace.com routing to my existing blog. So I guess my monthly payment for hosting at bluehost isn't needed and just the payment to get my domain is.

I guess this will work good but curious on others thoughts. I also just heard the comment that hosting on wordpress allows them to ownership of you content, any truth to this.

Also, one hold out is that if I start fresh at BlueHost I will loose all my page stats and my followers and email followers. Do I just pull the pin and hope they follow over there?So many questions when you are bumping your page up to the next level.

FYI My blog isn't a finance site, it is more about inspiring positivity and about getting people back into the outdoors.