Author Topic: Blank Canvas  (Read 4310 times)

Wire-E

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Blank Canvas
« on: September 29, 2013, 11:59:13 AM »
Mustachians,

Good afternoon.
I am standing at a crossroads at current and have some exciting (and maybe a little daunting) prospects to which you might direct your thoughts/advice.
A little background:

I am a 30 year old electrician, full time employee, making $45k+ per year gross.
My wife, same age, works part time from home. She earns our full health care coverage and $20k+ per year gross.
We have a 1 year old baby, and another bundle coming in 8 months.
2 years ago, we paid off all our debt except our mortgage.
3 months ago, we sold our house because it was too far away from my work, too far from our friends, and too expensive.
We're currently renting an awesome beach house month to month for $1000/month including utilities, and are saving $1500/month.
We have two very reliable cars, a 2009 and a 2004...both in great shape, fully paid for.
We have $40k in the bank.
We have $25k in retirement/ira savings.

Here's the crossroads:
We're looking for a house potentially 2 or less miles from where I start work everyday. If we can live that close, I can keep the company vehicle at home, or bike to work, resulting in a low to zero commute cost.
Our target house price is between $150k to $275k...depending on whether it's a single family or multi-family.
I'm extremely handy, having built several log cabins, owned a 4-plex for 2 years in my early 20's, and work everyday as a trade professional. So getting something that needs work is viable and cost effective.
However, here's my question:

What's the best thing to do with this position we're in? I could see doing several things:

1. Keep renting for awhile and build up some serious savings...potentially we'd be at over $55k by May (after tax return and monthly savings accumulate. But what then?

2. Buy a duplex and force appreciation, living in one side, and renting out the other.