Author Topic: Bittersweet Job news  (Read 41802 times)

NorCal

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Bittersweet Job news
« Reply #50 on: September 27, 2015, 03:19:06 PM »
Not a lawyer here, but I think that FMLA stuff you are suggesting is tricky. After all, they are only keeping you around to train your replacements and you are useless to them on FMLA leave. I know you think you are protected and all, but what do you gain with that? Don't you forgo pay while on FMLA? I'm not an FMLA expert either but had looked into it myself for potential parental health issues.

I think by going on FMLA you can kiss your bonus and possibly severance goodbye. What's the difference between quitting and going on FMLA if you are not getting paid anyways? If you want to take time off with your newborn, why not just ask to get laid off now along with the others? At least you will get some severance.

I'm not a lawyer either, so take it for what it's worth.  You're actually on pretty solid ground taking the leave on your own terms, and it might even be beneficial to you.

As it stands right now, it sounds like you have nothing in writing.  They could lay you off next week or in May to avoid paying severance.  If there's one thing companies fear in this situation, it's being sued.

If you take FMLA protected leave and they change the terms of your employment or severance (in writing or not), then you have a legitimate case for claiming that they retaliated against you for taking leave.  If they pull any more shenanigans, a simple threat of an FMLA lawsuit will help you immensely.

JRA64

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #51 on: September 27, 2015, 05:05:34 PM »
Tough situation, I'm sorry to hear this is happening to you.

I don't like the part about being "eligible" for a $35K bonus, especially if it's not in writing. Sounds too much like being entered into a sweepstakes drawing.