Author Topic: Biking To The Office With a Consultant Job?  (Read 2448 times)

mayodt

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Biking To The Office With a Consultant Job?
« on: January 12, 2018, 07:17:18 AM »
Hey guys, this is my first post on the forum, I've been reading mr money mustache for a few months now and lately have been trying to bike to work as much as possible, but I have a problem - I work as a consultant and most of my work is out at construction sites. During the winter work is slow due to weather so I have been biking to the office but in the summertime construction is going full speed ahead so I need my car to drive to the sites (often the sites are 25+ miles away from the office). So, my average day will look like this:

- Drive home to the office to get my gear (~4 mile drive) and everything to go to the construction sites (Cannot take the gear home, work does not allow it)
- Drive to construction site(s)
- Drive back to the office to drop off gear
- Drive home

The only solution then I have to biking to the office and saving that ~4 mile drive each way is to leave my car at work and bike to the office. Luckily there is a shower at my office so I can shower after the bike in the morning. My girlfriend is not a fan of biking so she always drives her car everywhere, so if I need it in a pinch I can borrow it for trips that require more than a bike when I am at home but she is not always around and if I need my car in a pinch it's a 30+ minute bike ride away from home.

Is there any other way I could reduce my non-work paid car driving? I am okay driving my car for work purposes because I get paid per mile driven (but not for any drive between home and office).

Thanks in advance!
« Last Edit: January 12, 2018, 07:19:00 AM by mayodt »

GuitarStv

• Senior Mustachian
Re: Biking To The Office With a Consultant Job?
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2018, 07:29:14 AM »
Can you bike in and then carpool to site with someone from the office?

mayodt

• 5 O'Clock Shadow