Author Topic: Bike tubes and DIY installation for a beginner  (Read 5746 times)

Teachstache

• Stubble
Bike tubes and DIY installation for a beginner
« on: June 16, 2017, 07:17:17 AM »
Hey all, I bought a used bike trailer yesterday for $30 to take my 2 year old around this summer and to daycare on my way into work in August. However, yesterday, I found that my bike tubes are completely flat. Any recommendations for a complete novice with no way to get my bike into the shop for how I go about replacing my bike tubes? I had Mr Tuffies with Slime Tubes previously installed by a now defunct bike shop 4 years ago (and haven't ridden my bike since having my 2 year old 😥), but I'm not seeing them online. Suggestions for best tubes and possibly tires to buy and where to get them? Tires are 28 x 1 5/8 x 1 3/8.

nereo

• Senior Mustachian
    • Here's how you can support science today:
Re: Bike tubes and DIY installation for a beginner
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2017, 07:27:13 AM »
There are tires and there are the tubes which go inside the tires.
Also, it's not abnromal for bike tires to go completely flat after 2 years of non-use.  Do they hold air after you've inflated them?

I highly recommend Continental Gator Skin tires (pretty close to puncture-proof with great durability). 
I've never seen much difference with tubes - I buy what my co-op sells for ~$4. IME as long as the tire is good and the inside free of debris any tube will work for non-race purposes.

For changing them you'll need only a set of tire levers (usually $6 or so at any bike shop or online).  Watch a YouTube video - it's not hard, just requires a bit of finger dexterity and some patience your first time doing it.

AlanStache

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2017, 07:30:17 AM »