Poll

How fast do you typically ride your bike?

0-5mph
1 (1.3%)
5-10mph
7 (8.9%)
10-15mph
36 (45.6%)
15-20mph
30 (38%)
20-25mph
4 (5.1%)
25+ mph
1 (1.3%)

Total Members Voted: 73

Author Topic: Bike Riders: How Fast Do You Ride?  (Read 15886 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Bike Riders: How Fast Do You Ride?
« on: May 14, 2013, 09:20:03 PM »
For those of you with a bike computer, how fast do you ride, typically?  (Your normal speed along a busy road, not when sauntering enjoying the day, or booking it as fast as you can.)
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

ThatGuyFromCanada

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • www.jonathanneufeld.com
Re: Bike Riders: How Fast Do You Ride?
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2013, 10:12:23 PM »
I don't have a bike computer but I do track my average speeds. I ride a road bike to work and I'd say I cruise around 30km/h with peaks and troughs. The other day I was passing one of those temporary radar signs and said I was doing 37km/h (23mph)

Joet

« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2013, 10:44:57 PM »
per strava moving avg on my commute is:
[this includes stops, starts, slowing for a light, etc all, anytime the app senses movement]

~16.5 mph, hybrid commuter/fenders/et all
~15.5 mph, full susp mtbike,
[these are averages looking @ 1k++ miles commuting on each]

not asked but will answer anyway :)
~19-20 mph on my ebike commuter (A2B metro)

I am far from fast tho! But I notice some slight improvements sometimes in my ETs per the good ol' strava app
« Last Edit: May 14, 2013, 11:01:40 PM by Joet »

Jwesleym

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2013, 10:55:28 PM »