Author Topic: Bike resources for a newbie  (Read 4241 times)

Miranda

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Bike resources for a newbie
« on: August 09, 2015, 12:56:32 PM »
Hello all. I'm thinking of getting a bike for my errands and whatnot. I'm a total newbie-never even had a bike as a kid. In doing some reading it seems more involved than I thought. Tools,  repair kits, maintenance. I did some searching to find some resources for what I need to know and have, and there are thousands! Does anyone have any they found particularly helpful? I started reading too much I think, got overwhelmed, and was ready to just give up.

I have questions about the basics,  but also day to day stuff, like where to leave your bike when there are no bike racks around, or how to share lanes with cars who are passing you. I'm more than a little nervous.

vhalros

• Bristles
Re: Bike resources for a newbie
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2015, 01:12:57 PM »
Yeah, it can be overwhelming, but you can figure it out. As far as how to deal with traffic, I find this pretty helpful: http://cyclingsavvy.org/hows-my-driving/

As far as locking it, Hal Ruzal's videos are informative and amusing: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aTA3JsZWiec . Keep in mind he is in NYC; adjust your level of paranoia based on your location.

For a general overview of maintenance, I like "The Bicycling Guide to Complete Bicycle Maintenance & Repair" by Todd Downs. This is good for learning the names and different types of everything, as well has how often to do maintenance. Then I tend to look up videos of specific things as needed.

Sheldon Brown's website is also a pretty good resource for many things. Here is his section on locking: http://www.sheldonbrown.com/lock-strategy.html , and an article on stopping an stopping: http://sheldonbrown.com/starting.html (surprisingly few people seem to know how to do this).
« Last Edit: August 09, 2015, 01:21:34 PM by vhalros »

Miranda

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2015, 03:10:01 PM »