Author Topic: Bike Commute with 5 year old  (Read 1748 times)

SimpleCycle

• Handlebar Stache
Bike Commute with 5 year old
« on: June 21, 2020, 07:49:16 PM »
This summer my daughter is going to a YMCA camp that is about a mile from our house on fairly busy city streets.  She just turned 5 and I'm wondering what suggestions people have for getting her there safely and efficiently.  She's 44 lbs and 41 inches.  I'm a pretty experienced cyclist but haven't biked with her on the bike before.

Things I have considered:
1. A Yepp Maxi bike seat
2. A Tyke Toter front seat
3. A trail a bike
4. Saying "screw it" and driving

I haven't done any biking with the kids so far, so I'm new to the child on the bike options around.  Any thoughts and pros/cons would be greatly appreciated.

acepedro45

• Bristles
Re: Bike Commute with 5 year old
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2020, 10:01:54 PM »
I tote around a 3 and 1-year-old all day long in a trailer.

How close is your 5-year-old to riding independently? Obviously that is the easiest solution. But it sounds like the camp start is upon you and there is no sign of her riding by herself as a listed option. Even her own balance bike might be viable if you're able to keep on sidewalks and don't mind taking your time - it's only a mile.

I'm thinking she's probably a little big for the front seat, but others may have different opinions. No idea what the "official" weight limit on the front seat is.

My research showed the trailer as the safest option, but you may want to consider the difficulty of drop off if you yourself have more places to be on your bike and no particular need for pulling around an empty trailer.