Author Topic: Bicycle info for a complete noob  (Read 8132 times)

Maigahane

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Bicycle info for a complete noob
« on: March 19, 2014, 03:27:55 PM »
I'm thinking about getting a bike to try to cut down on commuting costs but I haven't been on a bike in close to 15 years and I never even figured out the gears on mine back then. Basically I have no idea what I'm doing. I want to be pretty cheap with the first one because there's a good chance that my idea won't pan out....

DH and I live 30 miles from our jobs but they're 6 miles from each other (I know, we'll be selling and moving in the next year or two). He goes to work 2 hours before me and then has class on the other side of town (6 miles from my work in the other direction). So I'm thinking I can come to work with him in the morning, ride the bike to my job (and catch up on my reading), then ride to his school. From what I've seen on here 12 miles a day is easily doable, especially broken up.

So, break it down into little words for the utterly clueless: What kind of bike should I be looking for? I'm 5'9", about what size should I be looking at? Am I crazy thinking I can bike 6 miles at a time when I haven't biked in 15 years? I'm in decent shape, but not amazing

Thegoblinchief

Re: Bicycle info for a complete noob
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2014, 03:33:55 PM »
If the terrain is flat, it will be easy even at first. If it's hilly, it will take some adjustment.

I'd recommend a hybrid style bike. For your size, a 17" frame is typically recommended from what. I recall. I really like my Trek FX 7500, which I got used after recommendations here. Mine is 10 years old and was $250.

Depending on your area, it can be harder to find hybrids versus ten speeds or mountain bikes, but worth the extra craigslist time.

A mountain bike is quite doable for six miles, but if you get into cycling in a bigger way, you'll be happier with a hybrid.

Thegoblinchief

« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2014, 03:36:09 PM »