Author Topic: Best way to sell washing machine?  (Read 4298 times)

redbird

• Pencil Stache
Best way to sell washing machine?
« on: August 24, 2016, 05:10:56 PM »
I have a washing machine that is less than 1 year old. I bought it because this apartment had hookups (no actual appliances) and it was cheaper to buy a washing machine than it would be to take my clothes to a laundromat and certainly more convenient.

I'm moving very soon to a state over 800 miles away, to a place that has a washing machine, and I'd rather not bring something so big and heavy with me.

Suggestions of how to get rid of this thing? Obviously I could get rid of it very quickly if I gave it away, but I know I can make money on it. I have never used Craigslist before and worry about personal safety. I don't live in a very good neighborhood, this apartment is on a 3rd floor (though I do have a hand truck and straps that can support the washing machine's weight so I can help move it to outside if needed), and I don't have a vehicle that can transport it anywhere (I drive a Prius). Any other good options other than Craigslist?

Basically I'm just hoping for an option that is 1) easy, 2) most likely will let me get rid of it fast (less than 1 week), and 3) doesn't result in me getting shot or robbed.

Spork

• Walrus Stache
    • Spork In The Eye
Re: Best way to sell washing machine?
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2016, 05:19:55 PM »
Craigslist is my goto... 

But does your apartment have a bulletin board (maybe by the mail boxes) where you could post a for sale ad?  I have to think someone there at that apartment is staring at their hookups thinking "I wish I had a machine".

They're generally really easy to move with a hand truck.  I've moved a ton of them.  They are surprisingly light (for their size).