Author Topic: Best way to save/invest in Norway?  (Read 6142 times)

Hanamizu

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Best way to save/invest in Norway?
« on: September 02, 2015, 06:34:01 AM »
Hey everyone :)

I'm new here - fell in love with the idea of FIRE after reading a few MMM articles, it really put into practical ideas how I've felt for a long time.

I'm just posting for some advice on the off chance that there are some Norwegians here who have a clue about the best way to save/invest money here. I'm completely new to this stuff, and don't understand things like stocks and fonds very well, so please "explain to me like I'm 5", lol.

I'm 26 years old and the *only* thing I have is a regular bank savings account (around 2% interest I think) with roughly 80,000 NOK that I have saved up through my life. And I'm guessing this money could be put to better use somehow rather than just sitting in a bank account?

I'm currently not employed, but also do not have any rent expenses as I'm staying with family, with very minimal food expenses.

Any suggestions?

Scandium

• Magnum Stache
Re: Best way to save/invest in Norway?
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2015, 07:15:34 AM »
I'm norwegian, but don't live there so can't be much help unfortunately. There was somebody else here who started a thread about low-cost index funds in Norway, you can try searching for it. I'll see if I can find it too.

Seems like most norwegians don't invest much in stocks, but rather consider mortgage payments the primary "savings for old age".. Once you make it to 65 and get the state pension. I imagine the Jante law will make you a social outcast if you retire early from own savings (not that you shouldn't still do it. I say stick it to 'em!)

Hanamizu

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2015, 08:10:26 AM »
What are low-cost index funds?