Author Topic: Best way to proceed with paying off debt and investing - [case study]  (Read 3604 times)

MaxP0wer

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
A little background stats:  I'm 35, my wife is 26, and we have a 1 yr daughter with another expected early next year.  We just built a house this year and while I did plenty of spreadsheets on the costs and budgets, I'm starting to feel overwhelmed and second guess myself.  I used to be ok carrying debt and managing it but as our daughter grows up I find myself wanting to be more financially free.  So I have a plan but want to to see what some other opinions are.

We live in the midwest in a LCOL area, combined gross salary 113,000.

Savings
401k - 10,000
457 - 26,000
IRA - 10,000
Roth IRA - 6,500
Liquid Savings - 4,000
Also have a pension that i've been paying into for 5 years.  I don't know if I'll stay till I retire but if I leave I have the option to get all that I've put in plus interest. Estimated value 25,000

Debts
House (1500/month @ 4.25%) - 282,400
Rental (780/month @ 4.25%) - 140,800
SUV (392/month @ 3.2%) - 24,300
Variable Student Loan (180/month @ 5.1%) - 17,600
Federal Student Loan (165/month @ 4.5%) - 21,000
Credit Cards (0%) - 14,000
401k Loan - (200/month) 5,300
457 Loan - (160/month) 13,900

The loans are paid to myself with interest so they don't bother me as much.  We have two other paid off vehicles, I am selling one that is worth about 4K.  The other is reliable but worth much less as it is almost 20 years old.  I know it makes more sense to sell the SUV but the wife loves it and the car I'm selling is a previosuly salvaged car and she doesn't like our daughter riding in it.  We both need a car and we both pick up and drop off for daycare.

I'm currently renting the other house to my brother who will likely purchase it and take advantage of current low interest rates.  Without a realtor I will net about 14k from the sale.  So I will have a lump sum of about 18k after the sales.