Author Topic: Best way to mix & match CC rewards/airline miles  (Read 4091 times)

Johnny Aloha

• Bristles
Best way to mix & match CC rewards/airline miles
« on: September 30, 2016, 09:20:38 AM »
I'm pretty new to the travel hacking game.  Where can I learn how to mix and match awards and points?

My goal is to get 4x plane tickets (1 of which is an infant under 2) from the southeast to Hawaii in January or February 2017.  I currently have about 90k United Miles, 88k Delta Miles, 90k Chase Ultimate rewards points, and 44k Citi Thank you points.

Thank you!

catccc

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Best way to mix & match CC rewards/airline miles
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2016, 12:24:02 PM »
I don't have a ton of advice, but if you have a Chase Sapphire card, I think you can convert the Ultimate reward points to specific airlines.  I don't think this works with Chase Freedom, though.  It really varies, but sometimes it is a better deal to leave redeem them through Chase.

boarder42

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2016, 12:53:39 PM »
you're pretty late to the game to do all of this.

if you're willing to split up you can probably make it work.. but the cheapest flights are all best booked over a year in advance. just have flexible dates and search the fare calendars.  an infant if you want to hold them the whole time on that flight would be free i think. 

JoJo

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2016, 02:49:10 PM »

if you're willing to split up you can probably make it work.. but the cheapest flights are all best booked over a year in advance. just have flexible dates and search the fare calendars.  an infant if you want to hold them the whole time on that flight would be free i think.

Agreed.