Author Topic: Best card for airlines?  (Read 12199 times)

texastumbleweed

• Stubble
Best card for airlines?
« on: May 19, 2017, 08:22:39 AM »
So I'm new to hacking a vacation.  I've got a card for groceries and a card for hotels and I'm trying to fly to LA from the east coast for free this summer.  I'm about to make some business purchases for about $5k (plus another $5k this fall).  I'd love to put that on a new card to get some airlines miles.  I could of course just put if on the hotel card and get hotel points, but I've already met my 5k in 3 months on that card so it is just 1:1 now.  Any suggestions for the best card?  Also will that be enough to get a free flight? 

Thanks!

boarder42

• Walrus Stache
Re: Best card for airlines?
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2017, 08:34:04 AM »
southwest dual card hack and get a companion pass is probably your easiest path.  3k spend on the premier card to get 60k miles plus 3k spend on the plus card for 40k miles.  then just spend the extra 4k and you've got a companion pass and 110k points. 

catccc

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2017, 08:40:08 AM »
For a one card hack that (I think?) yields a decent bonus, the chase ink preferred card gets you a 80K point bonus for $5K min. spend.  80K is more than enough for that flight.  There is a $95 annual fee, but their are targeted mailers out there that offer the first year free, and I think they may waive the first year if you apply in branch.

The value of the 80K is definitely much less than the companion pass and 110K points boarder suggested, but the minimum spend is less and you only need to deal with one card.  But the ink is a good option if you want to take a simpler, albeit lower yield, route.

« Last Edit: May 19, 2017, 08:42:46 AM by catccc »

texastumbleweed

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2017, 08:43:05 AM »
Hm, ok so either the chase ink preferred or the southwest card?  Can someone tell me which southwest card exactly because there are a lot of them.