Author Topic: Best Bike Lock and Bike Locking Technique  (Read 18997 times)

cdttmm

• Stubble
Best Bike Lock and Bike Locking Technique
« on: April 16, 2012, 08:34:01 AM »
Hello fellow Mustachians!  I want to start riding my bike to run errands, but need to buy a bike lock.  My fear of having my bike stolen is my number one reason for not using my bike for errands already.  I'd love to hear everyone's recommendations on bike locks as well as bike locking techniques.  Thanks!

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

napalminator

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Best Bike Lock and Bike Locking Technique
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2012, 10:16:56 AM »
here's a non-video article: http://thurstonbcc.blogspot.com/2008/05/how-to-lock-your-bike.html

key takeaway:

you can also buy replacement skewers for your wheels and seat if you have quick-releases that require a wrench instead of the lever.  not a huge deterrent, but enough to stop casual theft. 

where do you live? bike locking in Manhattan is one thing, bike locking in the suburbs of Des Moines is another.

Mrs MM

• Administrator
  • Bristles
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2012, 10:31:54 AM »
Bike locking technique: http://lifehacker.com/5847276/properly-lock-your-bicycle-by-knowing-which-parts-are-easy-to-remove