Author Topic: Benefits and stability vs happiness  (Read 2993 times)

OvertheRainbow

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Benefits and stability vs happiness
« on: December 25, 2015, 10:08:50 PM »
Hello everyone,

This is my first post and I just started learning about MMM! (So please be gentle. :) )

I am in a dilemma, and I know this may sound premature. Some background:

I am a young early/mid twenty-something who graduated a year ago and received a full-time job with the state with great benefits. I don't care for my job. I have been on a very stressful unit for almost eight months. It is wearing on me and I find myself growing more pessimistic about my job and field. I have tried to transfer to my dream specialty but have been told that I need more experience (while others with no experience keep getting hired!). I have been working for this same state institution for over four years and will be fully vested in August. HOWEVER...

Just a couple of days ago, I received a voice message from another facility to which I applied. It is in my dream specialty. The problem? It doesn't have the great state pension/contributions and the benefits are not as good. The health insurance is okay and the 401k has a pitiful match (half of every dollar up to 3% of wages). Although I haven't interviewed for the job yet, I know there is a strong possibility that I could get it.

I have maxed out my 2015 Roth IRA at Vanguard and will max out 2016 next month (grand total principle will be 11,000...I just started in November). It is a Target retirement fund (though I plan on adding Wellington and Wellesey into the accounts). I have over 17k at 80% fully vested at my current job and another 20k in a savings and 2.6k in checkings. I just opened a brokerage account at Vanguard but I am clueless. No debt though!