Author Topic: Benefits and disadvantages of leaving home for the first time  (Read 33056 times)

stephan145

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Benefits and disadvantages of leaving home for the first time
« on: October 23, 2020, 07:39:55 AM »
I know I can't just outsource the question of whether I should move out from my parents home or not. However, I'm interested in your take on this situation and what recommendation you guys have.

About me: I'm 24 years old and live in Central Europe. I finished my Master in Computer Science a few months ago, since then I'm working on my PhD. I'm pursuing the PhD because I LOVE the academic life. I love researching, reading current papers, get to the very bleeding edge and even increase the knowledge of humanity by publishing own papers! I have an amazing team and project, thus I do not regret my decision for a second. The only downside is the pay-check; I certainly could earn much more money working in industry.

I was a rather quick student, it took me just 4 years for my bachelor+master ('minimum' duration of study is 5 years). I did two semesters abroad (only ~3 months each) where I lived away from home. Except for these two exceptions I live with my parents. I bike to university everyday (~35km, 80min for the round-trip).

Current financial situation: I have ~35k € invested in (mainly) an low-cost all-world ETF (actually 75% developed world, 15% emerging markets, and 10% bonds). I earn ~2.300€ take-home pay a month (including a bit of income from my self-created company).

Enough preliminary, the reason for this post is that I'm dallying over renting a small flat (27mē + 10mē balcony) for 360€/month. I'm thinking about it extensively for the last two weeks (is this too little time to make such a large decision? I don't know...).

My main arguments for leaving the nest:

* the new flat would be really close to university (~15 minutes walking, or 4' biking)