Author Topic: Beginner here  (Read 4004 times)

JD_79

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Beginner here
« on: March 28, 2013, 09:52:56 AM »
Hey everyone,

Just found this website about a week ago, what a revelation!

Some background on me:

33years old
$57000 a year salary
$19K in student debt (8k at 8.75% and 11k at 2%)
$5 debt in the form of a loan from my folks (0 interest)
$58,000 in an IRA that I rolled over from previous job
$1000 in savings

I have a pretty nice living situation as I live at work.  So no commute, no rent.
I have a 3% Simple IRA with the company matching it and I fully fund a Roth IRA at the moment.
I pay 725 a month for car insurance and utilities, student loan and loan from parents.
My take home pay is $3,000 a month.

I'm asking, where do I go from here? 
1. Pay off debt?
2. Stockpile a rainy day fund?
3. Start investing? 

I'm working on cutting back on food and personal expenses as I realize I have a unique opportunity here to really build up the 'Stache.

However, how do I figure what I really need to retire as I cant live here after that and would have to pay health insurance.

I'm not a real money man so simple advice only please, haha.

Thanks for any help, this place is great:)

JD

matchewed

• Magnum Stache
Re: Beginner here
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2013, 09:55:12 AM »
What a coincidence. ;)

https://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/welcome-to-the-forum/top-ten-mmm-posts-for-new-readers/

*edit*

And yes to all three, in that order isn't too bad either. Although a rainy day fund is not really the same as an emergency fund and has connotations of spending money based on a sudden want rather than a conscious decision to spend. :D
« Last Edit: March 28, 2013, 10:05:45 AM by matchewed »

A440

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2013, 10:08:31 AM »
Hi,

Congratulations on starting on a new path!  Definitely the link from matchewed is a good place to start.