Author Topic: Beginner here. Please rate my current plan  (Read 3566 times)

FIREball567

• Stubble
Beginner here. Please rate my current plan
« on: September 20, 2018, 11:26:46 PM »
Hi all. I'm brand new to the site and have been reading a lot of topics. I'm a public school teacher in my early 30's making 90K a year. My wife makes 50K a year and we're both trying to save money to buy a house. Here are my current accounts.

1) 403B - $55K - tax deferred annuity which offers a guarantee 7%. I contribute about 18% ($16,000) of my salary to this plan. I've been playing it safe all these years by putting money in the 7% fixed fund but wondering if I should change it to one of funds (balanced fund, equity fund,etc).

2) 457 Roth Plan $0- I just enrolled in this and will contribute $5,000 a year in the 2055 target find. Should I be contributing more to this account or my 403B? I'm allowed to put in $18,500 each year.

3) City Pension - Won't be receiving this for 30 more years but will get 60% of my salary each year when I retire. This will probably be over 70-80K in the future.

4) Traditional IRA of $6K. It's currently locked in a CD of 2.5% APY for one year. Once that matures, I plan to invest it in a brokerage account.

5) Taxable: Wealthfront/Robinhood/Fundrise/LendingClub - $25K in these accounts to get my feet wet into investing and diversifying. Wealthfront consist of SCHB, VEA, IEMG, SCHD, and TFI. Robinhood app consists mostly of individuals stocks such as Apple, Costco, Nvidia, Activision, Nvidia, and a few other ones.

6) 100K in savings. My SO is really against me investing and I'm trying to convince her but right now is in a high yield savings account since we want to purchase a house in a year or two.

Please rate my current investments. I'm a total beginner and would love your feedback.