Author Topic: Been thinking about looking for a new job...  (Read 5202 times)

Bearblastbeats

Been thinking about looking for a new job...
« on: May 08, 2018, 06:38:06 AM »
Hi folks

I've been at my current job for about 3.5 years. My professional title is 'Project Engineer', and the company I work for is in the material handling industry. As a project engineer/project manager, I do the usual project management tasks you would see at any industrial/construction/engineering firm, i.e:

•   Oversee and coordinate subcontractors through all phases of construction
•   Provide design input and expertise from concept to execution
•   Retrieve and organize all quotes for materials and labor for projects and assembling proposals
•   Monitor supply deliveries and inventory
•   Provide quality construction oversight throughout the trades
•   Design full conceptual warehouse solutions for material handling utilizing AutoCAD and other design software
o   (i.e. conveyor systems, pallet racking, robotics)

Now, the reason I have been feeling this way is mainly due to the culture of this particular job. My director is a egotistical bully that no one likes but somehow hasn't been fired in the last 20 years. The salesmen I deal with are pretty useless to the point that I do 99.99% of their job (obtain quotes, schedule contractors, draft proposals) but they get the 30% gp on the job.

This year our department didn't get any raises, we did get an ok bonus (which was my second ever from here) but even that is rare.

My fear of leaving is due to my lack of formal education. I only have an associates degree in architecture but have been working in engineering/architectural firms since 2010. I am 31 years old and make a good $60k salary. I am located about an hour north of Boston, and I see other project management jobs and other project engineer jobs bays $10-$20k more than I do now.