Author Topic: Becoming a teacher  (Read 2677 times)

wick

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Becoming a teacher
« on: May 11, 2017, 11:33:15 AM »
Hey friends,

So my job as a carpenter is starting to dead end and I'm looking to jump ship before I'm totally burnt. I've always wanted to be a teacher, but all the information I've found online seems like an ad for one online college or another. Does anyone have the straight juice on this one? What is the process? How is the pay? I know there's supposed to be a ton of time off but how much exactly. Is there any activities outside of the process that you'd recommend to build your teaching skills, like say volunteering.

I live in New York City with my SO,  although whether or not we're here for until we FIRE is up in the air. I know there are both state and national certifications, how do they differ?
 I'm a practicing artist also so I'd want to teach art or shop class although I know those offering are few and far between (shop, that is). I had a 3.49 gpa in college and I hold a BFA.

Thanks so much,

Secretly Saving

• Bristles
Re: Becoming a teacher
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2017, 12:04:44 PM »
Every state is different.  You'll want to look at the details for NY state.  The link below explains the pathways to certification for NY.  Click on the appropriate candidate profile that matches you. 

http://www.highered.nysed.gov/tcert/certificate/rightpathway.html 

Because you are moving over from a previous career, you will find a different career pathway available than say someone who went to school, got a degree in Education and got their certification while in college.

These are the types of certificates available in NY:  http://www.highered.nysed.gov/tcert/certificate/typesofcerts.html   You will most likely want to pursue a "Career and Technical Readiness" degree.

This is the process from start to finish:  http://www.highered.nysed.gov/tcert/certificate/certprocess.html

Good luck.

Smokystache

• Pencil Stache