Author Topic: Becoming a mustachian, a little unclear about investing, and general advice  (Read 2286 times)

PhilW1010

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I've been cutting back my spending and getting rid of things that simply sit around and use electricity that I don't use. I want to start investing, but I'm not sure how to tell if I am in a good spot to start. How much would I need to do an initial investment? (Looking more at Vanguard at the moment). While I'm saving more money now, I'm still relatively new to this and my household income is fairly low (just over $30,000/yr between my wife and I). Any advice I can get would help greatly, we are trying to look at ways to increase our income but at this point in time neither of us have any marketable skills and very little free time to practice or learn any skills, so it's been difficult.

Frankies Girl

• Magnum Stache
  • Ghouls Just Wanna Have Funds!
Hi and welcome!

To get help from the forum, it might be best to post a case study to see how you're doing in relation to debt/living expenses/investing.

Also, one of the best ways to learn about investing is Jim Collins' stock series. I knew almost nothing about 3 years ago, and that series opened my eyes and made it possible to do much of my own research and actually understand things going forward. Can't recommend it enough. :)

Axecleaver

• Magnum Stache
You can open an IRA at Vanguard with $1000.

Anytime you want to save more, you can either make more money or spend less. $30k a year for two people is $7.50/hr working full time. I worked minimum wage jobs to support myself through college, so I've been there. I think it's great that you're putting money aside now. In terms of earning power, you have nowhere to go but up from here. Keep your expenses low as your earning power increases, and you'll be retired in no time.

Jeremy E.

• Handlebar Stache