Author Topic: BEANS!  (Read 10656 times)

BlueHouse

• Magnum Stache
BEANS!
« on: June 01, 2017, 08:05:54 AM »
Let me begin by saying that I'm an unenthusiastic cook, but that I am trying to reduce grocery bills and dining-out bills by cooking more at home.  I like the idea of batch cooking and slow cookers, and I have a couple of recipes that are easy, tasty, freeze and lunchbox-worthy.   Right now, I really want to improve the basic ingredients that go into some of my favorite recipes.  And that means beans.

I bought an InstantPot last year in the hopes that I could make beans from dry, but so far, it's been a complete failure.  I've followed recipes on just about every cooking blog to make beans in slow cookers and pressure cookers and they come out either too hard or too soft.   

Does anyone have an exact instruction manual for how to make Black Beans from dry?  I swear I can follow instructions, but maybe there is something simple I've overlooked.  I inspected the bean packaging at the supermarket the other day and noticed that the Harris Teeter beans had a "best by" date, but the Goya beans did not.  How can I tell if I have old beans? 

If I can get one type of bean right, I'll expand into other types. 

thanks for the help.

Bird In Hand

• Pencil Stache
Re: BEANS!
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2017, 09:45:51 AM »
Does anyone have an exact instruction manual for how to make Black Beans from dry?  I swear I can follow instructions, but maybe there is something simple I've overlooked.  I inspected the bean packaging at the supermarket the other day and noticed that the Harris Teeter beans had a "best by" date, but the Goya beans did not.  How can I tell if I have old beans?