Author Topic: Baby steps into adulthood, I'm quite lost?  (Read 2028 times)

Putka

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Baby steps into adulthood, I'm quite lost?
« on: September 27, 2015, 03:50:22 AM »
Hey, I've never thought much about money, I've always had enough due to having my parents pay for everything and students loan, I've never had to worry about it before, but I've always been pretty frugal.

Now that I've graduated and am taking financial responsibility for myself I feel pretty lost. I've become to understood that bank saving accounts are pretty much useless compared to investing, but I don't know much about it.

A little about myself, I've just turned 26 and I graduated a bit under 4 months ago. I don't own anything that isn't debt.
Annual income after taxes and mandatory goverment hand outs: 44 000 euros per year so approximately 3700 euros per month.

My wife still has four years of university left and my job is located in a different city, I try to live as cheaply there and here, but rent etc end up costing around 1000 euros per month.
My biggest income leaks are
Living. 1000 euros per month
Car (1.4l tdi toyota corolla, 4.1 liters per 100km approx 57mpg) bought from my parents, no interest loan which i'm paying 500 euros per month away. Gas takes around 250 euros per month and insurance and taxes around 100 per month. total of 850 per month, should probably round this to 1000?
Additional housing insurances gym membership etcetera 20 euros per month, cellphone and internet 25 euros per month combined maximum of 100 euros per month
Food approximately 250 euros per month
Bad luck case scenario set up (dishwasher breaks down etc) I'm putting away 200 euros per month up to 5k.

Total of 2400 euros spent per month out of approximately 3700 euros per month which leaves 1300-1150 euros per month to invest and pay back debts.
Car debt total (interest free) 8000 euros left out of 9000.