Author Topic: Australia at the moment, then who knows??? Time to act!!! [case study]  (Read 7413 times)

rasics82

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hi everyone,

I'm extremely new to the forum but I'm following MMM for a while now, and let me say that this community is just amazing!!!

I feel I'm in a very lucky situation at the moment but I'm afraid it won't last very long (I'll explain quickly later), so I need some help to try to get the best out of it.

Investing skills: definitely a newbie

Life Situation:   I'm 34, recently (4 years ago) moved to Australia from Italy, it started as a long holiday and it has become a very long holiday. I'm a lab tech in a mine site, I spend 2 weeks at work and 1 week back home in Perth (WA). I'm still a temporary resident but I'll be permanent, hopefully, by the end of this year (a lot of little disadvantages should disappear then).

**Currency AUD**

Gross Salary/Wages: $82000 / $3150 every fortnight

Current expenses:
Rent: $500 month / $125 week (room in share house)
Health insurance: $100 month (will be probably 50% less as soon as I'm PR)
Mobile: $30 month
Food: $100 month
Gas,electric,internet: $0 (included in the rent)
Car Insurance: $40 year (I don't have a car, I'm just keeping my membership)
Petrol: 50$ Month (I'm using a friend car the week I'm home)
Car Registration: $500 year
Miscellaneous: $300 month

Assets:
Superannuation Fund: $22000, employer contribution of $600 a month
Savings: $90000 in a goal saver account, 2.2% annualized return (just dropped recently that's why I need to do something ASAP)
Australian Shares: $10000 (Very stupid move, too inexperienced, after nearly one year I'm down 2% but the spread between the good and the bad ones, is massive)
P2P Lending: $18000 (I did a bit more research for this one, and I'm pretty happy so far with the results, RateSetter)