Author Topic: Attacking Debt--suggestions?  (Read 39269 times)

kmb501

• Bristles
Attacking Debt--suggestions?
« on: January 13, 2016, 04:33:35 PM »
I have over $100,000 in student loan debt from my undergraduate and graduate years in college. I was careless. I could have tried to be more frugal, but I was afraid. I lost my parents' house after Katrina, and I didn't want to live out on the street, so I opted for expensive and "safe" living options like on campus dorms and apartments (which charged me a rate several times higher than a regular apartment considering I was required to have roommates.) The total rent at those student apartments was about $500 per person, and I had two roommates on top of it! Tres expensive! I should have looked around and found a nice off-campus living option, but I was afraid, so I stayed in those student apartments, ate in the on campus restaurants, and went through several thousand dollars a year in "living expenses" while I earned my degree. I had a small job as a substitute teacher at that time, but I only made about $700 per month, enough to pay the interest on my student loans, but I will admit that I didn't even do that.

I know, though, if I can rack up that much debt and spend that much money in seven years' time, surely now I could save enough to get myself out of debt and back on track. Right now, I'm on an income-based repayment plan that will probably change a little after I file my next tax return. Right now, I owe $0 per month, but my loans are still accruing interest. If I tried to pay them back at the usual rate, I would be looking at ten years' worth of payments at $1200 or so per month. That's a little over half of my current salary, and it wouldn't make a good dent in the debt for quite a few years.