Author Topic: At what age were you making good decisions?  (Read 12230 times)

naners

• Stubble
At what age were you making good decisions?
« on: August 06, 2016, 10:39:09 AM »
DH and I are having our wills drawn up since we're expecting a baby. One question is how old the child should be before they gain full control over the estate (in case we both die before them). How old do you think you were by the time you were reliably making good decisions? I'm kind of thinking 30. That also gives them the chance to establish good working habits before coming into a lot of money. And before that, the trustee could always give them money from the estate for reasonable expenses (education, maybe house downpayment). The trustee/guardian is my sister, one of the most stable/frugal/responsible people I know.

Gronnie

• Pencil Stache
Re: At what age were you making good decisions?
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2016, 10:49:14 AM »
I was a model citizen and student in high school, so of course I was expected to succeed right away in adult life.

Didn't end up that way. Started gambling, getting in trouble, skipping classes in college, etc. At one point I am pretty sure my parents had written me out of the will.

I didn't shape up until about 26. I got married, went back to school and got my Computer Science BS with a 4.0 GPA, etc. I am now 30 and doing great.

Point of the story is it is definitely not until they are about 25-30. Even if they are model citizens in their teenage years.

ShoulderThingThatGoesUp

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2016, 11:02:37 AM »
20, when I got with my wife. 25 is probably more reasonable than 30 but I get going either way.

Apocalyptica602

• Bristles
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2016, 11:06:32 AM »
I was also a 'model citizen' in high school. I went off to college and got my bachelors in Mechanical Engineering and ended up finishing with a ~3.5 and a job paying ~$60K right after graduation. Sounds good right?