Author Topic: At home dry-cleaning?  (Read 5505 times)

Ms Manageable Muttonchops

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
At home dry-cleaning?
« on: August 22, 2014, 10:13:08 AM »
I'll try to keep this brief.

I am newly in the world of "you are a big girl now and you have to put your big girl pants on and dress all fancy so other people will presume you are smart and worthy"

AKA Professional Office Life

This means I am also new to owning clothes that are not quick-dry, smart-wool, high-performance, spandex or fleece. Apparently business-type clothes are stuck in the dark ages of delicate linens that *gasP* can't get wet!

Long story short I now own a few items that say "dry clean only" (barf). These are mostly fancy-pants suit jackets and I think one shirt?

Is there an alternative to dropping these clothes off at the shop that says "dry cleaning" on it and paying someone else to do it? I have literally never had to deal with this before....can you "dry clean" at home...?

I hope this is not a stupid question! Also if this topic is discussed elsewhere, please direct me!

Thanks a bunch. =)

dandarc

• Walrus Stache
  • Pronouns: he/him/his
Re: At home dry-cleaning?
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2014, 10:34:53 AM »
My wife uses Dryell - much more expensive than regular clothes washing, but much less than taking them to a dry cleaner.  We do still take our REALLY nice clothes to a dry cleaner - suits / very dressy dresses, but most of her professional office attire gets Dryelled.

dandarc

• Walrus Stache
  • Pronouns: he/him/his
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2014, 10:36:26 AM »
Also, it is "Dryel", not "Dryell".

Ynari

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2014, 11:37:42 AM »
I try my hardest not to (have to) dry clean any daily wear clothing, as general daily wear for me is business casual so I have options.