Author Topic: Asked for a raise, did not get it  (Read 5376 times)

doneby35

• Bristles
Asked for a raise, did not get it
« on: April 05, 2018, 09:43:15 AM »
I've been trying to figure out how to go about this, maybe people on here can help.
I've been working for an large organization for 4 years now, make a 6 figure salary, with yearly 2-3% performance increases. However after I did some research, what I'm currently making is below the market average so I asked for a 10% raise. My manager agreed but the response ended up being that the organization does not give out raises unless there's a promotion or another offer from some other company in play.
I don't really want to interview other companies because 1) i really don't want to leave. 2) showing them an offer from another organization might have unintended consequences I assume.

What would you do if you were in my shoes: you know your salary is below market average and so does your employer, you made the case for a raise but did not get it, you don't really want to leave, but you really want that raise.

honeybbq

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Asked for a raise, did not get it
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2018, 09:47:06 AM »
Ask to be promoted?

radram

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2018, 09:49:56 AM »
I have always held the opinion that I only look for another job when I am committed to leaving the current one. Looking only for leverage with your current employer just doesn't sound like a good idea to me.

You like the work. That is worth something. You feel underappreciated. That is worth something as well. Only you can determine which of those feelings will win out.

With regard to the offer needed for negotiations, how has that been working for them? Have they lost good people? If they have and they are OK with that, there is not much you can do other than decide to stay or decide to leave.

Keep us posted.

NoStacheOhio

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2018, 09:53:27 AM »