Author Topic: as a teacher...403b or 457 for retirement?  (Read 5362 times)

Fullbeard

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
as a teacher...403b or 457 for retirement?
« on: December 28, 2016, 12:22:38 PM »
**from the wife of fullbeard**
Hello,

My husband has been looking into this site and we are using these forums to make better financial decisions and work towards more financial freedom. I am currently a teacher in DE. This is my second year teaching in DE. We have a retirement option of either a 403b or a 457. It looks like one will never be matched by an employer, but the other (while frozen now) has potential of being matched by an employer. I've looked up information, but am completely clueless when it comes to all this bank talk. I was wondering if any of you could help me figure out which would be best for me. As of now, I am not enrolled in anything. I don't think enrollment opens until May timeframe.

Thanks in advance,

Clueless ;)

Lagom

• Handlebar Stache
Re: as a teacher...403b or 457 for retirement?
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2016, 12:34:07 PM »
Always prioritize a match, but after that, for early retirement a 457 is vastly superior because you can start taking distributions at any time without an early withdrawal penalty. The main drawback (which hopefully should not apply because you are so on top of your finances) is that most 457s are not protected from bankruptcy.

Gin1984

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2016, 12:35:48 PM »
Always prioritize a match, but after that, for early retirement a 457 is vastly superior because you can start taking distributions at any time without an early withdrawal penalty. The main drawback (which hopefully should not apply because you are so on top of your finances) is that most 457s are not protected from bankruptcy.
Also, they are considered the employer's property and subject to their creditors if not a governmental 457. 

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk

lbmustache

• Pencil Stache