Author Topic: Appraising dishes and stuff?  (Read 3704 times)

Random Internet Stranger

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Appraising dishes and stuff?
« on: April 21, 2015, 06:38:29 PM »
Greetings fellow Mustachians!!!

I am new to growing a magnificent 'stache like many of you have, but we all must start somewhere. And I am starting to see a few wispy strands upon my lip!! /cheers!

However, I come to you with a small dilemma. I have been looking at the things we have in our house, both his and mine, and have come to the realization that we have stuff. Too much stuff!!  Most of that I can easily take care of... Goodwill, VoA, and St Vinnies are more than willing to help. But, that brings me to my small issue.

My grandparents on both sides have been gone for many many years.  On my father's side, I was the only granddaughter, and as such, I ended up with a ton of their belongings when they passed. Many of those things, I didn't need, and found them good homes and I know that both my grandmother and grandfather would have been pleased that I found them to be useful and didn't just toss them out.  My father's parents were older when they had him, and as such, had a good amount of kitchenware/blankets/ quilts and so on.

I am the last one in our family on this side, for the most part. My grandparents only had the two kids, and the relatives on both sides are deceased. My dad had given all these items to me, he doesn't want them. My brother cut himself off from us and wants nothing to do with anything of theirs. That's fine with me, it's his life. So its just me, and I am left with boxes and boxes of old china dishes, about 4 large boxes in all.

I don't have anyone in my family who would want them. I can't use them, nor can I display them, we just don't have anywhere to do so. My husband and I can't have kids, and tbh, I'm in my late 40's now, so it won't happen. Passing them down is kind of pointless when there is no one to pass them to.