Author Topic: Anything I can do with a master's degree collecting dust?  (Read 3647 times)

Late_Bloomer

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • Counting every penny.
Thought I'd ask about this because I've all but wrote it off as a loss. Back In 2006 I graduated with a bachelor's of fine arts. I couldn't find a job remotely associated with the degree so I took whatever jobs I could get. In 2008 I went back and graduated with a master's in fine arts education. This certified me to teach k-12. Over the next year and a half I was able to get two interviews but did not get either job.

Around this time I landed a job I enjoyed which again, was unrelated to my field. At that time I decided to buck up and pay off the student loans so I focused on that and let applying for teaching jobs fall to the wayside. Three years later my wife got a good job opportunity in another state and we relocated.  I didn't want to give up completely so I took the certification tests for the new state we were now in.

At this point it was 2012. I got a decent job, which I'm currently working, yet it's unfulfilling.  i decided to apply for more  education positions. I got one interview out of the 15 surrounding districts and this one seemed to be the nail in the coffin. The interview was going well until the principal asked how much teaching experience I had. I said I had a full time one year internship, as well as two years of intermittent substitute teaching. At hearing that, she simply stood up and walked out of the room. I pretty much felt at that point the interview was over. The remaining panel continued but it ended shortly thereafter.

That brings us to now. My certification is still good until 2018 but I feel there is no point in trying to apply without sacrificing my current job in order to go back to school for refresher courses or attempt more substitute teaching to bring my experience back up to a relevant status. 

« Last Edit: June 27, 2015, 03:56:18 PM by Barrett73 »

lbmustache