Author Topic: Anyone with a part time software development/programming job ?  (Read 1674 times)

StreetCat

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Anyone with a part time software development/programming job ?
« on: October 20, 2018, 01:25:20 PM »
I'm a developer and I'm at a stage where I can Coast-FI (leave the 'stache as it is and find a job to cover just the expenses).

I don't want to completely stop working because:
  • I like coding and being part of a team and the camaraderie that comes with it, etc.
  • I will be too bored if I don't have anything to do.  I'm not a big traveling type person.

However, I also don't want to continue working full-time, because:
  • Full-time job is preventing me from doing things I like (primarily exercising more).
  • I don't have to.  If I find a job that just covers my annual expenses, that will suffice.  Current job comes with a bit more responsibility (and pay) than I need.

Question: Ideally I would like to find a part-time programming job (20-24 hours/week) in Java or related fields.  I have looked online and they don't seem to be the norm.  My current employer doesn't have this either.  Have any of you succeeded at finding a position like this?  How did you go about it and what geographical and technical areas are more likely to have part-time positions?  Any other pointers/tips?

TIA.

ender

• Walrus Stache
Re: Anyone with a part time software development/programming job ?
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2018, 02:11:21 PM »
I'm confused - how much do you want to exercise every day that a normal job prevents you from doing that?

How much are you wanting per hour? Your FT salary rates?

What it sounds like is you want to be a contractor who works at a single client for less than 40 hours a week.

StreetCat

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2018, 05:01:33 PM »
I'm confused - how much do you want to exercise every day that a normal job prevents you from doing that?