Author Topic: Anyone tutor on the side?  (Read 3553 times)

marielle

• Pencil Stache
Anyone tutor on the side?
« on: November 14, 2017, 10:08:28 AM »
I just had a d'oh moment. I've been trying to figure out a possible side hustle and couldn't think of anything. Walk dogs? Nah, I don't have much dog experience. Pet sitting? Maybe, but most people have dogs. Then I remembered I have a bachelor's degree that required advanced math classes and I also have prior experience tutoring adults in college...

Does anyone here tutor? Kids or adults? What is your pay? Do you advertise on Craigslist or use a tutoring site?
« Last Edit: November 14, 2017, 10:38:11 AM by marielle »

AMandM

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Anyone tutor on the side?
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2017, 10:33:37 AM »
I do a small amount of private tutoring for high school students.  I have a bachelor's degree in math and physics and a master's in engineering.  I charge $50 for a full hour of one-on-one tutoring. I'm pretty sure this is lower than the market rate in my HCOL, high-achieving area, but my clients are friends, I don't have to travel far, and there's no drama.  I could easily charge more in the next county over but then I'd likely be dealing with pushy parents who want me to get Sonny into Harvard.

For comparison, I used to work in a tutoring center, where they charged about $45 for a 50-minute hour of three-on-one tutoring, and I got paid $25 for that $135 session.

I've never advertised because I've got as many students as I can handle through word of mouth.  If I wanted more clients I would sign up to be on the list of available tutors at local schools, or I'd hang ads on bulletin boards at the local colleges.

My daughter has signed up with several tutoring websites. They take a significant cut, and they have strict noncompete provisions, so she does not recommend that route for  someone who wants to build up a clientele and have a solid side income.

Ynari

• Pencil Stache