Author Topic: Anyone provide financial advice professionally?  (Read 3324 times)

Gone Fishing

• Magnum Stache
  • So Close went fishing on April 1, 2016
    • Journal
Anyone provide financial advice professionally?
« on: August 15, 2014, 03:01:04 PM »
As in, getting paid?

Sblak

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Anyone provide financial advice professionally?
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2014, 03:09:24 PM »
I am a tax attorney, so in a sense I provide advice about a specific area of finances.  I have only one client - I work for the State - so I can't advise others for money. 

What kind of advice are you looking for?  Or are you curious about whether providing paid financial advice is Mustachian?

Cheddar Stacker

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2014, 03:17:32 PM »
If you consider tax planning advice financial advice, then yes. Otherwise, no.

Gone Fishing

• Magnum Stache
  • So Close went fishing on April 1, 2016
    • Journal
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2014, 03:24:39 PM »

What kind of advice are you looking for?  Or are you curious about whether providing paid financial advice is Mustachian?

Just doing a little survey.  I've considered it for a second career if I ever decide to go back to work after ER.  The problem is most advisors I have met are just glorified annuity sales people that haven't seemed to apply anything they might have learned along the way.  Just wondering if there was a way to spread some of what I have learned on the ER path and get paid to do it without having to peddle inappropriate products.

Cheddar Stacker

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2014, 03:32:55 PM »
I've considered this as well. I just posted a paragraph about it yesterday in my journal. I think I phrased it "early retirement coach/consultant" and I think it could be a cool post FIRE hobby career. Not sure the legal ramifications of this though. I'm sure you'd have to go through all the proper licensing and compliance crap which would be a hassle.

usmarine1975