Author Topic: Any urban planners?  (Read 3402 times)

zing12

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Any urban planners?
« on: June 23, 2017, 07:35:13 AM »
I've been working in public accounting for several years, and am in my late 20s. Most of my experience has been with local government accounting. It's never thrilled me, but it had its good days and it paid off my student loans. I wanted out of public accounting for sure because of hours and travel, but really my experience has set me up for some pretty well-paying local government finance jobs (like school district treasurer, city finance director, etc) with pretty good work life balance and great benefits. The intellectual stimulation isn't the best though.

It all started really with my inherent Mustachianism. I was looking for a good neighborhood where I could live a car-free or car-light lifestyle, and have been frustrated by the lack of transit and bike and walkable infrastructure in my state. This led to me joining a discussion forum website and reading and posting a lot about urban development in our state and eventually led to me thinking of it as a potential career change. If I couldn't find the place I wanted to live, I would build it. I have always been a total geek when it came to maps, roads, trains, skyscrapers, always loved everything about cities.

Then I went through a big breakup and wanted a reset, so I took a mini-retirement and taught abroad last year and traveled all around Europe. Before I left, I applied for planning masters programs.