Author Topic: Any Political Campaign workers/organizers  (Read 2799 times)

Marko34

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Any Political Campaign workers/organizers
« on: May 22, 2013, 12:08:35 AM »
Hey Guys, I'm new to the MMM world and trying to get my things in order...  I'm also new to the Campaign world, but have been doing it for almost a year and a half since graduating college and have worked on a winning referendum state issue campaign, and also a legislative campaign in two different states.  I love the work, the fast pace environment and the travel.  I have been accepted into Grad School for Public Policy and Management, but am looking to gain more field experience and defer going back for my masters.  I was wondering if anyone on here has been or is still in this field?  How long did it take for you to really move up into higher money making positions (not that it's super important to me, i truly love the work,) that included benefits and so on.  Most of the people I have worked with love it, but are bouncing state to state, and may make decent salaries at times, but spend months after campaigns unemployed and very rarely get benefits.  Are there any other MMM readers who are campaign junkies like me who can give me any advice going down the road on best ways to balance the constant moving, travel, post campaign-unemployment, with still living an MMM lifestyle?

I hope to try to pick my new jobs based on places with bikeable commutes, and if possible places that offer supportive housing.  I am young and don't mind having room mates to live rent free.

ScubaAZ

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • New Mustachian looking for FI by 40
Re: Any Political Campaign workers/organizers
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2013, 12:21:31 AM »