Author Topic: Any others working on their debts?  (Read 32961 times)

SarahMD428

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Any others working on their debts?
« Reply #50 on: June 07, 2015, 10:34:41 AM »
Hubs and I have been on here since January. We've now paid off $14,650 in debt. (He got a raise and I decreased my tax withholdings. We cuy spending a tad.) Next on the list is maxing out his 401k. After that, I have no idea. I'm going to have to learn more between now and the end of the year. I don't want to put more down on the mortgage because we live near an expanding airport and we will probably be bought out in a decade. We're so underwater on it, I think we'll be sinking money in for no reason. I'm currently a teacher, so no 401k for me. Maybe max out Roth IRAs and HSA?? Any suggestions, or is this a bad place to ask - being that we're on the debt side of MMM? :)

sleepyguy

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #51 on: June 07, 2015, 10:54:59 AM »
We've been quite fortunate that we pretty much never had any debt except for mortgage.  GF paid her way through school with p/t jobs, a while I decided school is too boring and dropped out.

Currently just working on 2 mortgages, our primary residence and an investment property.  We're thinking of getting a 3rd soon but the market is just too high in our area.

surfhb

« Reply #52 on: June 07, 2015, 11:00:33 AM »
Still pushing that boulder uphill but I feel it's getting easier every month.

5 years ago I was $20k in debt with no savings.....this time next year I will be well over $100k net worth with an investment property or 2.   ;)

It would have been more if I discovered this site sooner

psinguine

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #53 on: June 07, 2015, 03:51:17 PM »
Oh look, something I can contribute to. I... I'm not sure how to feel about that one.

Debt 1 - Wife's Visa - Current Status: DEAD