Author Topic: any mustachian scientists out there?  (Read 15803 times)

Case

• Pencil Stache
any mustachian scientists out there?
« on: May 05, 2015, 07:29:06 PM »
[slightly edited to clarify some points]

And by scientists, I mean biologists, chemists, or physicists?  I would accept material scientists, chemical engineers,... or people with lab research oriented jobs.

I hardly ever see any on this forum.  I am a chemist.

I am curious why the majority of mustachians (on these forums) tend to be software engineers?  Does it have to do with the personality type?  Does it have to do with a relatively low amount of training earning a high income (in other words, 4 years of undergraduate study is the norm; I am not implying that these people are less smart); e.g. people who make efficient career choices go for it?  Is it because computer programming is actually boring (and thus drives people towards wanting FIRE; not trying to imply anything negative about programming)?

I often find it hard to relate to the computer scientists and lawyers on this site because their life experience is so much different from mine; these high paying professions have access to great living locations, and enable FIRE more easily.  Don't get me wrong; i'm doing well enough, on my way to FIRE, etc...  If I could re-do things, I'd probably go with programming... but on the other hand, my personality is such that the physical sciences just interested me more. 

The reason I wonder is because one could argue that my profession (chemist... and other scientists jobs as well) are not ideal mustachian choices.  To get the best/most satisfying jobs, you often need a PhD.  That's a good 5 years of low earning year (grad student usually make a stipend of 20-30k).  And then, with the PhD your starting salaries are often on par with computer programming jobs (based on what I've read here).  And, for chemists at least, the job market has been not spectacular for a while.... but not abysmal either.