Author Topic: Any Lawyer Mustachians on here?  (Read 224277 times)

Anon-E-Mouze

• Stubble
Re: Any Lawyer Mustachians on here?
« Reply #700 on: October 02, 2021, 08:39:08 AM »
I've been a lawyer for 30 years now and thought some younger lawyer Mustachians might be interested in my less conventional career path, which for the most part has been very interesting, relatively remunerative and much more balanced (in terms of work versus life) than a traditional career in private practice.

I started off in Big Law on a common career path for many of us (business law transactional practice) but quickly realized that although I found the subject interesting, I wasn't interested in, and wasn't that good at, managing transactions. After a few years (in two different countries), I jumped to a research/knowledge management role at a top firm and LOVED that role - it was like being paid (a lot of money) to be a grad student, dealing with only the most interesting and challenging questions and working with lawyers across the firm.

However, I didn't have much time left over for a private life outside work, and I was single in my early-mid 30s. I also profoundly influenced by an accident my hard-working sister had at about this time. She was working 50+ hours (mostly on night shifts) as a nurse as the sole breadwinner in her young family. (Her husband worked at home on their land.) She fell asleep at the wheel coming home from a night shift and plowed into a tree. Fortunately, her injuries were quite minor - but it was a reminder to both of us that our lives could end in an instant and it was important to spend time on what mattered.